Fifteenth Best of 2010

Posted: February 26, 2011 in Word
Tags: , ,

As I’ve mentioned, I will be showcasing my favorite albums of ’10 and starting today, I will be posting my countdown of the top 15 releases. There were only 10 initially, but after giving it more thought, I decided not to have a top 10 and an “honorable mentions” list, and post 15 albums instead. So here we go.

The 15th spot goes to : Murs & 9th Wonder – Fornever

Great production by The Chocolate Boy Wonder, as usual, and Murs doesn’t disappoint….as usual…again. The track below is a great example, as the two also pay respect to a hip-hop classic.

Now I might have failed to mention that this chick was creative
But once the man got to her, he altered the native
Told her if she had an energetic gimmick, then she can make money
And she did it like a dummy
Now she’s common in commercials, she’s universal
She used to only swing it with the inner city circle
Now she be in the burbs rocking jeans that’s extra skinny
And on some dumb shit when she comes to the city
Talking bout popping bottles with models and all the strippers
Now she’s a baller trying to see who’s the richest
Tatted all up with 808s and heartbreaks
Nails is to pretty to be digging in the crates
Stressing how wealthy and rich she is
She was rich in her spirit before she got in the showbiz
I did her, not just to say that I did it
But I’m committed, it’s just so many niggas hit it
That she’s just not the same letting all these groupies do her
They make it rain on her and trying to autotune her
But I will take her back, hoping that this shit will stop
Cause who I’m talking about y’all is hip-hop.

Comments
  1. Fifteenth Best of 2010 « La Fin De Leur Monde…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

Leave a Reply

