R.I.P. Micheal “Eyedea” Larsen (1981-2010)

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Word
Tags: ,

Three days ago marked the passing of one well known underground emcee, one who was loved by his fans for his writing skills and praised for his ability to freestyle, winning two big freestyle championships (the first in 1999 at Scribble Jam, while the second in 2001 at Blaze Battle). Many of you have surely heard of Eyedea, but maybe you aren’t very familiar with his music. He has released three critically acclaimed albums with DJ Abilities, three other solo releases and not to mention numerous features with fellow Rhymesayers people. His early passing came as a shock to the underground community as he was just one month shy of 29. I’ll say it again : 29! You probably don’t realize, but this guy didn’t even get to live half his life and yet he spoke about it in his rhymes as if he’s been here for more than 60 years. And each and every one of has can learn a thing or two from his songs, so I advice you to listen to some of his music at least…maybe the songs below can give you a little insight of what he was like and how his music turned out. The sad thing is that he will probably become one of those people that will be missed more and appreciated more after he’s gone rather than when he was alive. That’s very unfair, but that’s how life is…

R.I.P. Eyedea !

So insecure and messy, mark today the day that dedication died
Instead of saying goodbye, I’m staying praying that’ll I’ll stay alive
Because even though I know I hate to love you so much
I got no better place to go, that’s why I always show up

http://vimeo.com/15942743

I see the hurt when I look into your eyes
How you struggle to hold it and keep in bundled inside
It drives a dull blade deep in my heart; it makes me want to cry
So I offer you a hand to help wash away the rainy skies
I’m running out of words, but I haven’t yet made my message clear
So if none of this makes sense, I just want you to know I’m here

 

For a better look of what people around him though of him and had to say after his death, go here.

Leave a Reply

