Golden Mondays #1

Posted: July 12, 2010 in Word
Tags: ,

If you frequent this site and have a good memory, then you might recall how I mentioned a couple of times the incoming of a new weekly series. That day has come today and starting this Monday, every Monday you’ll witness, what I decided to call, Golden Mondays. In this weekly series I’ll be highlighting the greatness of what was the golden era of hip-hop. Yes, hip-hop had such a period and it’s placed starting with the late ’80s throughout all the ’90s. More precisely, it’s from 1986 to 1999. The amount of great hip-hop released in that time span is insurmountable. Run-DMC, Outkast, Nas, A Tribe Called Quest, Wu-Tang, Gangstarr, De La Soul, and O.C. are just a few acts that released albums during those years which made a significant impact on the history of hip-hop and the way it would further develop.

I’ll try to keep this weekly series as diversified as I can and showcase as many people as I can while constantly keeping it fresh. At the same time you’ll be able to see the huge difference there is between what was then and the ignorant crap they play on TV, so you won’t have to take my word for it, you’ll judge by yourself.

And to start things off, here’s my favorite track off of what I consider being the best and most significant release which came during the golden age of hip-hop: Nas – Illmatic.

It ain’t hard to tell, I excel, then prevail
The mic is contacted, I attract clientèle
My mic check is life or death, breathing a sniper’s breath
I exhale the yellow smoke of buddha through righteous steps

Don’t listen to what’s on TV.

Leave a Reply

