Native Tongue

Posted: May 30, 2010 in Word
Tags: ,

I admit: I didn’t start by listening to this good hip-hop that you see posted here. Even tho the first hip-hop album I purchased was Dr. Dre’s “2001”, I then went on buying albums by DMX, Eminem, Xzibit, Nelly, I’m not saying that all of those were bad, but then the Internet came into my life and somehow I started listening to 50 Cent and all that mainstream crap. And one day I found a post in a forum with nothing but underground hip-hop in it and I guess the thing that caught my attention was the covers of those albums. They were so dope that it made me want to listen to those albums and so I discovered that there’s more to the underground music than just the album covers. I discovered Atmosphere, Jedi Mind Tricks, Brother Ali, Cage, Canibus…and the rest just followed naturally. But the moment I heard Illogic’s “Celestial Clockwork” it just blew me away. My mind wasn’t ready for something of that caliber at that time in my life. It made me throw away all the weak and keep just the strong. I can honestly say that that album changed the way I think, my whole mind state. And I am thankful for it. Cause with a whole new better mind state came an improvement in my life and the way I run it. I thank hip-hop for the way it shaped me.

Music helps me escape from the reality I live in. And this i’s a good thing when that reality isn’t as cracked up as we thought it would be.

Shine so vibrantly that eyes squint to catch a glimpse
Embrace the bass with my dark ink fingertips
Used to speak the king’s English
But caught a rash on my lips
So now my chat just like dis

Leave a Reply

